Executive Committee About Us /
About CDNM

The Council is governed by an Executive Committee consisting of four office-bearers – the Chair, the Deputy Chair/Secretary, the Immediate Past Chair and the Treasurer – one New Zealand member and three ordinary members.


Executive Committee

Professor Tracey Moroney - Chair

Professor Tracey Moroney is the Head of School at the University of Wollongong, School of Nursing, Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health and has been a CDNM Executive member since 2014. She is a Registered Nurse, having completed her PhD in 2007 exploring the nature of advanced practice nursing, with a focus on the development of a conceptual framework of expert. Her recent research interests are focused on early career nurses and how they are supported in their transition to practice. Tracey has held senior appointments at Concord Hospital and the University of Sydney and has extensive experience in both undergraduate and postgraduate nurse education especially in the areas of clinical skill development, advanced and reflective practice and research methods.

Professor Donna Waters - Deputy Chair

Professor Donna Waters is Dean of the Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery (Sydney Nursing School) where she previously held the position of Associate Dean (Research). She is a registered nurse with over 25 years’ experience in nursing education, research, teaching and the management of nursing, medical and health services research. Following specialist training in paediatrics, Professor Waters commenced a 10-year research career at the Royal Alexandra Hospital for Children (now the Children's Hospital at Westmead) before going on to manage an independent nursing and health services research organisation. She has also worked as the Manager of Research and Projects at the College of Nursing in Sydney and as Associate Professor of Nursing for Justice Health in NSW. In addition to representing nursing on a range of university and hospital committees and boards, Professor Waters is a passionate advocate for the health of children and young people. She is a Board Member of The Sydney Children’s Hospital Network and Chair of its Network Health Care Quality Committee.

Professor Carol Grech  - Treasurer

Professor Carol Grech is the Head of School, Nursing and Midwifery at the University of South Australia, the largest school of its kind in South Australia and one of the largest in Australia.  The School was ranked in the top 50 schools in the world for Nursing in the 2016 Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) subject rankings and achieved a score of 5 (well above world standard) in the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) round for its research activities, achievements and outputs benchmarked nationally and internationally.. As a leader and driver of the School's strategic direction, Carol is responsible for all aspects of academic and research performance; and plays a key role in internal and external stakeholder engagement as well as supporting and sustaining a high performance one-team culture across the City East, Whyalla and Mt Gambier campuses where the School's undergraduate and postgraduate programs are delivered. Under Professor Grech's leadership, the School has developed a range of aged care programs from short professional development courses to accredited higher degree qualifications that prepare nurses to lead practice in advanced health assessment, clinical decision making, dementia care, wound management, chronic disease management and clinical leadership.

Associate Professor Stephen Neville - New Zealand member

Associate Professor Stephen Neville is Head of Department (Nursing) at Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand where he is responsible for the strategic, academic and operational leadership and management of the discipline, and is tasked with advancing nursing at a local, national and international level. He has extensive experience as an academic and researcher in nursing, and has held senior academic positions in a variety of tertiary education institutions in New Zealand. Stephen has a strong clinical background in gerontology and has taught at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as well as supervising graduate students undertaking masterate and doctoral theses. Stephen's research interests relate to the health and well-being of communities, particularly marginalised populations' encompassing sexual minority groups and older citizens, as well as health workforce development. He is the Co-Director of the AUT Centre for Active Ageing. The dissemination of research outputs are in quality assured forums including refereed journals and conferences. He is the current President of the New Zealand Association of Gerontology and is a Fellow and life member of the College of Nurses Aotearoa (NZ).

Executive Members

Professor Debra Anderson

Professor Debra Anderson joined Griffith University in late 2015 as Head, School of Nursing and Midwifery.  She is Director and Founder of the Women’s Wellness Research group based at the Menzies Health Institute Queensland. She has a PhD in Social and Preventive Medicine and over twenty-five years’ experience in education and research. Professor Anderson has an extensive record of providing leadership in major administrative, research and managerial roles in the area of global women’s health.

Professor Iain Graham Phd. RN

Iain has been involved or lead various enterprises aimed at furthering nursing's professional role and improving patient care. He was involved in the 'Nursing Development ' initiative in the late 1980s in the UK. He was active in promoting interdisciplinary education becoming president of COHEHRE in 2006.  He was involved in promoting Nursing Scholarship with membership at Sigma Theta Tau International and the RCN UK, Education Forum.

Iain has had a number of publications in peer reviewed journal, chapters and editorials and has received over 5 million dollars' worth of research and development grants and supported a number of candidates to a doctorate.

Iain holds adjunct professorial appointments with Sydney University and Vanderbilt University and is a Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing. He is one of the academic members of the NSW, NMC and he also sits on the RN accreditation committee of ANMAC.

Professor Melanie Birks – PhD, RN, MEd, BN, FACN

Melanie Birks is Professor and Head of Nursing, Midwifery and Nutrition at James Cook University. She has extensive experience and expertise in educational administration, teaching and curriculum development in local, international, military and civilian environments. Her research interests are in the areas of health professional education and workforce issues. Melanie is passionate about producing graduates that make a positive contribution to the healthcare system. Her track record in publication, grant success and consultancies demonstrates her determination to advance scholarship. This commitment is reflected in her extensive publication record which includes over 100 peer-reviewed publications. Melanie is internationally recognised as an expert in grounded theory methodology. She is co-author of a number of textbooks including Grounded theory: A practical guide (2011 and 2015) and Qualitative Methodology: A practical guide (2014).

Associate Professor Phillip Maude

Executive Officer

Ms Nicole Stanes

Phone: (+61) 3 9904 4366

Email: executive@cdnm.edu.au

Communications & PR Advisor

Ms Amanda Rowe

Phone: (+61) 3 9904 4031

“The council’s purpose is to represent the disciplines of nursing and midwifery in Australia and New Zealand in universities.”








Press releases

Position Statements









   Briefing Papers


Executive areas



Got some questions?

Need advice?

Get in touch with us!


By mail: executive@cdnm.edu.au

or by our: Contact Page


Copyright © CDNM 1993 - 2016

All rights reserved