Mission | Executive Committee | Constitution

About CDNM

The Council of Deans of Nursing and Midwifery (Australia & New Zealand) (CDNM) (or the ‘Council’), formerly known as the Australian Council of Deans of Nursing (ACDN), is the peak organisation that represents the Deans and Heads of the Schools of Nursing in universities that offer undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in nursing and midwifery throughout Australia and New Zealand. Its aims are to ensure the maintenance of quality standards of university education for nurses and midwives, to be the voice of tertiary education for nurses and midwives, to lead and represent those who provide tertiary education to nurses and midwives and to promote the public image of nursing and midwifery.

The Council was established in 1993. It is governed by its Constitution and an Executive Committee duly elected by the Council’s members at the annual general meeting. Elections are conducted every two years for the Chair, the Treasurer and the Deputy Chair/Secretary and every year for the ordinary members of the Executive. Members of the Executive are eligible for re-election.

Two members of the Executive are appointed without formal Council elections. When the Chair’s term of office expires, he/she shall become the Immediate Past Chair. In addition, members from New Zealand will elect one New Zealand representative to be on the Executive.

Council meetings are usually convened in March, July and October of each year.